Be prepared for any situation

“I have heard with admiring submission the experience of the lady who declared that the sense of being perfectly well dressed gives a feeling of inward tranquility which religion is powerless to bestow.”

–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Okay, so I meant to do another video to chat with you about some of my thoughts on how dressing appropriately for the situation you find yourself in can really boost your confidence, but life happened this week, and my video didn’t (insert wistful-slash-frowny face here).  So I am just going to write a few suggestions that have helped me (I’ll keep it short and bullet-pointed; after all, it is a sunshiny Saturday afternoon and the beach is calling).

  • When shopping for pieces to build your wardrobe, consider your lifestyle and the types of situations you find yourself in most frequently.  If you’re the koala keeper at your local zoo, you may not need a closet full of cocktail dresses.  However, if you’re an event planner, that may be exactly what you need.  If you work from home, a collection of smart denim would be a great wardrobe base, but if you only get to wear jeans once a week, you probably don’t need 17 pairs.
  • It never hurts to call a friend and ask what they’re wearing to a particular event to get a feel for the level of formality that said event warrants.  However (and I’m begging you here), don’t use this tactic as a crutch, unable to get dressed until you hear from said friend.  When I’m out and about, nothing pleases me as much as seeing other people dressed in their own style.  If everyone had the same style, how boring this world would be!  Just make sure it’s your style, and not a complete lack of style.

Invest in a few quality pieces that can work for a variety of situations (check out posts on Rachael’s blazer for inspiration), and you’ll never (well, perhaps rarely) find yourself without something to wear again.

If you have any further tips on this topic, please share them!  I’d love to hear from you!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Be prepared for any situation

  1. I don’t mind when people call for style advice but there is a certain amount of pressure in guiding friends…what if you get it wrong? Or they still can’t pull it together? Will they hate you for your advice?! Or maybe never call again?!
    Good sound advice from you here!
    I’ll start directing my friends to you so I don’t have the added pressure! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • Thanks for reading, Laura! My tip on giving advice on what to wear to a particular event would be to advise on the level of formality and/or creativity you’ve previously experienced at that event and what you yourself are wearing, and let them take it from there! In my experience, if the “fashion stakes” are really high, the invitation will note what attire is desired (even that can be tricky, but that’s an entirely different post!:)).

Leave a Reply

