Style inspiration: the incomparable Iris Apfel

One of my undergrad profs used to admonish us not to quote someone unless we absolutely could not phrase something differently than the original source.  Well, when on the subject of accessorizing, none can hold a candle to Iris Apfel, who rocks the fashion world daily with her un-ignorable accessories. In deference to her, therefore, let’s kick off the weekend with some inspiration from the Empress of Embellishment herself.

“I’m a hopeless romantic. I buy things because I fall in love with them. I never buy anything just because it’s valuable. My husband used to say I look at a piece of fabric and listen to the threads. It tells me a story. It sings me a song. I have to get a physical reaction when I buy something. A coup de foudre – a bolt of lightning. It’s fun to get knocked out that way!”

“If you put something together and it doesn’t look so good, the fashion police are not going to come a take you away. And if they do, you might have some fun in jail.”

“To find out who you are is like putting yourself on a psychiatric couch, but you have nobody to help you. Really it isn’t easy. I was talking with my nephew this morning and he gave me one of the best quotes I’ve heard in years… ‘Personal style is curiosity about oneself.’”

“When the fun is taken out of dressing, you might as well be dead!”

“…it’s not about money. People with a lot of money don’t dress as well as people who have to make do, who have to be inventive. Those are the people who are always more interestingly dressed, I think. Everything I do, I do with gut instinct. If I think too much, it won’t come out right.”

Leave a Reply

